1 Down

Today marks the one-year anniversary of the day I took the RROY REPORT from the obscurity of a weekly e-mail to the much greater obscurity of the World Wide Web.

I was going to celebrate by going to the comic book shop, but the Labor Day holiday threw everything a day behind so no new comics today. Instead I will go see “Easy A” with Stevie and enjoy a delicious dinner at Chik-Fil-A.

Fun Facts from one year of the Report as a blogging entity:

*  I have made 184 posts (one was from Jay) in Year One, significantly more than the once-a-week reporting I used to do.

* There have been 357 comments, not including 186 spam comments that the system automatically rejected. For some reason, posts from Darren do not count as spam.

* The most popular day at the report — 308 hits — was Sept. 8, 2009, aka Opening Day. And it’s all been downhill from there. Well, it peaks and valleys.

* Thirteen people subscribe to the Report. That’s pretty pathetic, but probably still higher than the Suburban Journals since they went to paid circulation.

* The most popular post is “If You Really Love Your Children,” Jan. 1, 2010. I can only assume people are searching for an inspirational how-to about child rearing only to find a post recommending people let their children watch the Looney Tunes New Year’s Day Marathon on Cartoon Network.

* The least popular post is “I Come to the Garden with Dinos,” April 28, 2010. I guess no one was interested in seeing fake dinosaurs at the Missouri Botanical Garden.

* The Report’s Facebook page has 70 fans. Paris Hilton’s Facebook page has 171,454 fans. 

So, one year later and what have I accomplished? Well, If I were Amy Adams I would have made every recipe in Julia Child’s “Mastering the Art of French Cooking” and I would have a book deal. Obviously I’m doing something wrong.

Clearly I need a gimmick. Apparently dinosaur-comic book-movie review blogs are a dime a dozen. I can’t cook, so that’s out. I was thinking about holding a giant rally, but nobody comes to my parties so that’s out.

Then it hit me: I can’t cook, but I can eat. So, beginning tomorrow (not today, ’cause I’m going to Chik-Fil-A) I will be starting a new segment. Between now and Sept. 8, 2011, I will eat everything on the menu at McDonald’s. Take that, Amy Adams.

I’m calling it “Ronnie & Ronald.”

6 responses to “1 Down

  1. 1. You changed the header for The RRoy Report. I like it, but why did you include the Pride and Prejudice DVD cover? You hate Jane Austen as much as you hate Shakespeare.
    2. I am extremely biased, but I think you are a wonderful writer. More people are reading your blog that what you think.
    3. About that McDonald’s thing, wasn’t there some kind of movie about that – “Supersize Me” or something like that? Didn’t the guy who ate at McDonalds all the time get really unhealthy? Don’t do that. I know we have life insurance, but I really do need you around. I do not want to raise a severely autisitic teenager all by myself. If anything happens to you, I really will have to go back to Visitation and join the convent. I don’t think the nuns are quite ready for someone like me to join their ranks. Not just yet. Eat at McDonalds now and then, but not to extremes, please. The nuns are counting on you.

  2. Congrats on year one, Ronnie. I have your blog loaded into my RSS reader, so not sure if that counts among your statistics. I do read (almost) every post.

  3. Laura is right. Morgan Spurlock did that already and it nearly pickled his liver. Actually, he tried to eat every meal at McDonalds for 90 days or some such thing, which is not quite the same, but still… There is a book called “Reading the Oxford English Dictionary” by a guy who read the entire OED, then wrote about the experience. You could do something like that. I understand Brad Pitt is going to play him in the movie version.

  4. Just review restaurants again…but this time don’t be so nice! I will say though, the McDonald’s Frappes and Smoothies are quite tasty.

    I like your new header, but I agree with Laura…the Pride & Prejudice is NOT you. For that matter, neither is Hamlet.

  5. Happy 1st Birthday, RROY Report!! Here’s hoping there are many, many more posts – and comments – in the years to come.

  6. Congratulation on your 1 year anniversary of the RRoy Report! I enjoy reading each and every report. I am also glad to be one of the 13 subscribers who appreciate your time and effort you put into each report. Here is to many more years of the RRoy Report.

Leave a Reply

