Song to Cicadas

An Ode to Cicadas
 
by Rodney Dean Roy
 
Nothing quite rhymes with cicada
And that’s got me feeling so blue
Since nothing quite rhymes with cicada
I really don’t know what to do
.
I wanted to opine about them
This noisy and troublesome pest
But nothing quite rhymes with cicada
And trust me, I’m trying my best
.
They spring forth en masse to plague us
About every 13 years
And nothing quite rhymes with cicada
And that fills my eyeballs with tears
.
We usually spend all our summers
Lounging about at the pool
But the pool is all filled with cicadas
And brother, that’s really not cool
.
I’m really not much for the swimming
Inside is where I’d rather be
Away from the screeching cicadas
Just watching some cable TV
.
No, nothing quite rhymes with cicada
Excuse me, I’m starting to cry
Since nothing quite rhymes with cicada
I’ll just stay indoors ’til they die.
 
4 responses to “Song to Cicadas

  1. Wow, that was the most heart-felt and touching Ode to Cicadas I ever read. Hmm, I wonder if it is the only Ode to Cicadas ever penned. You should submit this to some nature journals or something.

  2. Pingback: A Friend’s Ode to Cidadas | Scott and Kim's Blog

  3. I quite enjoyed the poem, even if nothing rhymes with cicada.

  4. nothing quite rhymes with cicada?
    I suggest you try a bit harder

Leave a Reply

