What’s On Ronnie’s Calendars 092011

Whoops, September has snuck up on me. I just finished writing something on the new DCU and I realized I needed to do a calendar update for today. So I guess I’ll punt my DC story to Friday. Good thing there’s no movie review.

Medusa

My “Women of Marvel” calendar features this rather odd image of Madame Medusa, Queen of the Inhumans. Created by Stan Lee and Jack Kirby for their Fantastic Four run, the Inhumans were a hidden race of people with super powers. They were not mutants, they were transplants left on Earth years ago by an alien race.

Medusa’s power, in case you couldn’t guess, is that she has unusually long, living hair. She can command her hair to do all kinds of things, like toss people around. She is the wife of Black Bolt, King of the Inhumans. That’s his costume she has draped over her naked body. I don’t know why. I don’t read the comics the Inhumans have been appearing in. He was probably dead at the time this image was drawn, but I recently saw Bolt in an FF comic, so he must be OK now.

War Machine

If you saw either of the “Iron Man” movies then you know about as much about War Machine as I do. Maybe Wikipedia can help.

James “Rhodey” Rhodes is a close friend to Tony Stark and for a time served as his personal pilot. When Tony became too drunk to operate the Iron Man armor in the ’80s, James took over the job for a time.

Tony eventually sobered up and reclaimed the Iron Man suit. He then built a kick-ass, heavily weaponized suit for Rhodey, who took the name War Machine.

War Machine  was a member of the West Coast Avengers until they disbanded. He is now a member of the Secret Avengers, Captain America’s covert super team. A teenage version of the character can be seen weekly in the “Iron Man: Armored Adventures” cartoon.

Rhodey currently wears a stripped down version of the Iron Man armor and appears in the comic “Iron Man 2.0.” He’s ditched all the guns and cannons but I guess whoever made the calendar up last year wasn’t aware that was going to happen.

Leave a Reply

