Gone: R.E.M.

Empty prayer, empty mouths, combien reaction
Empty prayer, empty mouths, talk about the passion
Not everyone can carry the weight of the world
Not everyone can carry the weight of the world

Talk about the passion
Talk about the passion

x

It’s so much more attractive inside the moral kiosk

Ooooo, we were little boys
Ooooo, we were little girls
It’s nine o’clock, don’t try to turn it off
Cowered in a hole, opie mouth. Question:
Did we miss anything? Did we miss anything?
Did we miss anything? Did we miss anything?
Catapult.

Did you never call? I waited for your call
These rivers of suggestion are driving me away
The ocean sang, the conversation’s dimmed
Go build yourself another dream, this choice isn’t mine

I’m sorry.

She’s got pretty persuasion
God damn, pure confusion

Don’t go back to Rockville and waste another year

Birdie in the hand for life’s rich demand
The insurgency began and you missed it

Swan, swan, hummingbird
Hurrah, we’re all free now
What noisy cats are we
Girl and dog he bore his cross
A long, low time ago, people talk to me

Buy the sky
and sell the sky
and tell the sky
and tell the sky
Don’t fall on me
x

Hang your collar up inside
Hang your dollar on me
Listen to the water still
Listen to the causeway
you are mad and educated
primitive and wild
Welcome to the occupation

We’re sharpening stones, walking on coals
To improve your business acumen.

You vitriolic,
patriotic,
slam, fight, 
bright light, 
feeling pretty psyched.

It’s the end of the world as we know it.
It’s the end of the world as we know it.
It’s the end of the world as we know it and I feel fine.

x

If you are confused check with the sun
Carry a compass to help you along
Your feet are going to be on the ground
Your head is there to move you around

I’ve had my fun and now its time to serve your conscience overseas.

Damn that radio song.

That’s me in the corner
That’s me in the spotlight
Losing my religion

It’s these little things, they can pull you under.
Live your life filled with joy and wonder.
I always knew this altogether thunder
was lost in our little lives.

Oh, oh, but sweetness follows.

If they weren’t there we would have created them. Maybe, it’s true,
but I’m resentful all the same. Someone’s got to take the blame.
I know that this is vitriol. No solution, spleen-venting,
But I feel better having screamed. Don’t you?

If you believe there’s nothing up my sleeve, then nothing is cool.

I know all about the warehouse fire
I know squirrelys didn’t chew the wires
Three people have my number
the other two were with me.
I don’t like to tell-tell but I’m not your patsy.
this time you have gone too far with me.

I know you called – I know you called – I know you called –
I know you called – I know you called – I know you hung up my line
star 69

You bang, 
bang,
bang,
bang
and bang,
blame,
blame,
blame
x
My head’s on fire in high esteem
Get drunk and sing along to Queen
Practice my T-Rex moves and make the scene
Yeah, I’d rather be anywhere doing anything
x
I can’t say that I love Jesus
that would be a hollow claim.
He did make some observations
and I’m quoting them today:
“Judge not lest ye be judged,”
what a beautiful refrain.
The studio audience disagrees.
Have his lambs all gone astray?

Call me a leper

I’d sooner chew my leg off than be trapped in this.
How easy you think of all of this as bittersweet me.
x
I’ll trip, fall, pick myself up and walk unafraid
I’ll be clumsy instead
hold my love me or leave me high.
x
who cast the final stone?
who threw the crushing blow?
someone has to take the fall
why not me?
x
I’ve been high
I’ve climbed so high
but life sometimes
it washes over me.
x
Saturn return when you chase down its moons
throw them into a new gravity
harder to look yourself square in the eye
easy to poke yourself, easy as pie
easy to take off, harder to fly
harder to wake Galileo
x
that’s sugarcane, that tasted good
x
I used to think, as birds take wing,
they sing through life, so why can’t we?
we cling to this, and claim the best
if this is what you’re offering
I’ll take the rain, I’ll take the rain
x
Its been a bad day,
Please don’t take a picture.
x
My book is called ‘The Ascent of Man’
I marked your chapter with a catamaran
The accent’s off but I am what I am.
x
Didn’t you, now? Didn’t you?
x
Throw it on the fire
Throw it in the air
Kick it out on the dance floor like you just don’t care
Give me some
x
Inexperience sweet delirious supernatural superserious
x
Oh my heart
Oh my heart
Oh my heart
x
I know, I know, I know what I am chasing
I know, I know, I know that this is changing me
x
I cannot tell a lie
It’s not all cherry pie
But it’s all there waiting for you
Yeah, you
x
This one goes out to the one I love
This one goes out to the one I’ve left behind
Another prop has occupied my time
This one goes out to the one I love

x

Time I had some time alone.

Leave a Reply

