Gone: Sandy Felty

The last I heard from Aunt Sandy was a Facebook post she made at 7:05 a.m. on Dec. 24:

Wishing all my friends and relatives a very MERRY CHRISTMAS

Pretty much everybody was posting holiday greetings that day, so I didn’t respond. Four days later I learned Aunt Sandy had died. She was 74 years old.

Sandy Montgomery was the youngest sibling in the Montgomery clan of which my mother was a member. She married C.W. Felty (I never knew what C.W. stood for) and they lived most of their lives in Carthage, Missouri, which was far, far away to a young kid from Cane Hill.

They had three pretty good kids — Lynn Allen, Mike and Robin. We always had fun with the Felty kids, whom we saw once a year at the 4th of July Montgomery family reunion at our farm. We made occasional trips to visit them, but not many, ’cause Carthage was far, far away.

Aunt Sandy was always smiling and joking, always in a good mood and with a positive attitude. That was commonplace among the Montgomery clan, now that I think of it. I wonder why I didn’t inherit that gift?

Leave a Reply

