UPDATE: The Only Oscar That Matters (2012)

Oops. Turns out I had the wrong video for Dimanche/Sunday, which means there is only one contender online. The RROY REPORT regrets the error and I have removed the wrong clip.

Once again it’s time to examine the contenders for this year’s Academy Award in the category of Best Animated Short Subject. It will be a short post this year because only one of this year’s nominees is available to watch online.

I don’t know why some animated short subject makers decided to get all uppity, but if that’s the way they want to be, fine. I won’t even talk about the ones I can’t find on the Internet. Take that, Pixar.

The front-runner for the big prize is likely  The Fantastic Flying Books of Mr. Morris Lessmore. This 15-minute short has that right combination of whimsy and weird that make me love short subject animation. I have no idea what this is about, but I like it.

A young man is torn from his home like Dorothy in The Wizard of Oz and winds up in a magical world of flying books. From there I’m not sure what was going on. It’s sweet and charming and well animated. I hope it wins.

One response to “UPDATE: The Only Oscar That Matters (2012)

  1. I like the Flying Book one, too.

Leave a Reply

