At the Movies: Bye Week

Due to my lack of interest in this week’s big releases, I am punting this week’s movie review.

I’ve made it this far in life without watching most of Adam Sandler’s traditional comedy films (I have seen most of his untraditional work — “Spanglish,” “Punch-Drunk Love,” “Funny People”). “Happy Gilmore,” “The Waterboy” and all those other movies may be very funny, I just don’t have any interest in them. I did enjoy “The Wedding Singer.”

The week’s other big release is “Rock of Ages,” and I did consider going to see that just so I would have something to write about today, but I have a couple of pre-existing issues with it.

First, it’s one of those musicals where the try to shoehorn old songs into a new story and I really don’t like that (yes, I’m looking at you “Mamma Mia!”). Sometimes it works out well but most of the time it just feels forced. Which only makes sense because it is forced.

The other problem is that the songs they’re forcing into the story are rock songs from the ’80s by such classic bands as Journey, REO Speedwagon, Styx and Bon Jovi. Now, I was in college in the early ’80s and I spent a lot of time listening to Journey, REO and the rest. I don’t particularly want to relive that.

I mean, I had a copy of “Hi-Infidelity” on 8-track and somewhere in my record collection are copies of “The Grand Illusion” and “Escape,” but here’s the deal: When it came time to convert all my music from album/8-track/cassette to CD — those were all artists who didn’t make the cut.

Plus, the musical is supposed to be coming to the Fox Theatre next year and I’ll probably go see it then. It will probably be more entertaining live.

So, if you need to see a movie this weekend, I recommend “The Avengers.” It’s still a few million short of beating “Titanic’s” box office haul, and it would be nice if it did.

One response to “At the Movies: Bye Week

  1. How can a non sports person, such as yourself, use a football term in your opening? Isn’t that like Morrison talking about Comic books?

Leave a Reply

