Hawkeye Update and Free Comics Update

This week marked a historic moment for the comic book industry, for this week the ninth issue of “Hawkeye” hit the stands.

Hawkeye_9-674x1024No comic with Hawkeye in the title has ever survived nine issues. Oh, there have been plenty of one-shots and mini-series, but they usually end at 4 issues. The first Hawkeye ongoing series, in 2003, lasted 8 issues. “Hawkeye and Mockingbird,” launched in 2010 and was canceled after 6 issues (the last two were folded into a separate mini-series, but that’s still only 8 issues).

Clint was the lead feature in “Solo Avengers/Avengers Spotlight” which ran 40 issues, but it doesn’t count. It was a split book and Hawk was only in half of it so it’s not really the same thing as having a comic all to your own.

So, third times a charm at least where Hawkeye is concerned. The current book, by Matt Fraction and David Aja, is doing quite well. In fact, remember a few weeks back when I told you to go by “Hawkeye Vol. 1: My Life as a Weapon,” a collection of the first 5 issues of the title in paperback form? Well, it wound up on top of the New York Times Bestseller List (graphic novel division).  I’d like to take credit for that, but I’m fairly sure none of you bought it.

HAWKEYE-9-Preview-3 The book also was the third highest selling graphic novel for the month of March, with numbers 1 and 2 being Batman books. But hey, nobody beats Batman.

In other news, remember last month when Marvel offered 700 free comics for digital download and I spent a weekend trying to download some and got nowhere because every other nerd with a computer was doing the same thing and we broke the internet? (Or at least the servers at Comixology) Well, it took a while but they made good on their offer.

marvel_banner

I got an email yesterday telling me I had 48 hours to download a truckload of comics. You may recall last time I was conservative and only tried to download 63 of their offerings. This time by the time I surfed through the offerings I wound up with 339. Then I went back and downloaded a dozen or more. That’ll teach them to make me wait.

Of course, I have no idea when I’m going to have time to read 300-plus comics, but at any rate — Happy Birthday To Me.

 

 

Leave a Reply

