Gone: Pete Seeger

If I had a hammer,
I’d hammer in the morning
I’d hammer in the evening,
All over this land.

I’d hammer out danger,
I’d hammer out a warning,
I’d hammer out love between my brothers and my sisters,
All over this land.

A time to gain, a time to lose
A time to rend, a time to sew
A time of love, a time of hate
A time of peace… I swear it’s not too late.

Where have all the graveyards gone, long time passing?
Where have all the graveyards gone, long time ago?
Where have all the graveyards gone?
Gone to flowers, everyone.
Oh, when will they ever learn?
Oh, when will they ever learn?

Don’t you know it’s darkest before the dawn
And it’s this thought keeps me moving on
If we could heed these early warnings
The time is now quite early morning
If we could heed these early warnings
The time is now quite early morning

Some say that humankind won’t long endure
But what makes them so doggone sure?
I know that you who hear my singing
Could make those freedom bells go ringing
I know that you who hear my singing
Could make those freedom bells go ringing

And so keep on while we live
Until we have no more to give
And when these fingers can strum no longer
Hand the old banjo to young ones stronger
And when these fingers can strum no longer
Hand the old banjo to young ones stronger

 

So though it’s darkest before the dawn
These thoughts keep us moving on
Through all this world of joy and sorrow
We still can have singing tomorrows
Through all this world of joy and sorrow
We still can have singing tomorrows

Words, words, words
In my old songs and stories
How much of truth remains?
If I only understood them,
While my lips pronounced them,
Would not my life be changed?

 

Pete_Seeger_1986There are three things
Most beautiful
In all the world we know
Nay, there are four
So wonderful
For mortal eyes to behold.

A bird on the wing
A snake on the rock
And a man and a maid in love
One more thing, yes, one more thing
And a ship under sail plowing the waves.

We’ll never know all the how’s and why’s
But we know that we’re here
And if we believe God gave us gifts
He’d want us to use them now
Today, this year.

To build a world where all can share
The big and small, the low and high
We’ll never know if we will succeed
But I believe that we must try.

Leave a Reply

