Read More About It: Captain America

We wind up Captain America week with a listing of comics starring the good captain that you might enjoy reading. To be honest, this is going to be a short list because I’m not a big fan of Captain America comics.

Unknown-2I’ve checked Cap’s book out now and then over the years but never stick with it. I think my favorite Cap story is the one from the ’70s where he quit being Captain America for about three issues and became The Nomad. I quit reading when he went back to being Cap. I get my Cap fix from reading “The Avengers.”


If you want to start at the very beginning, there’s “Marvel Masterworks: Golden Age Captain America, Vol. 1.” Keep in mind that comics from the 1940s are very, very dated. And simplistic and crude. And where Cap is concerned, pretty much war propaganda. I don’t know how many volumes there are, but if you make it through the first one and enjoy it you can probably hunt up the others.

Unknown-1As far as Silver Age Cap is concerned (1960s-’70s), the cheapest bet is always the Marvel Essentials line. You get a ton of stories in a large paperback. The downside is it’s in black and white. The upside is you can give them to your kids for coloring books when you’re finished.

If you must have color, you can get the same stories through the Marvel Masterworks line but it will cost you. The Masterworks are available in paperback and hardcover and the hardcovers will really cost you.

The Cap story I was referring to earlier is available in “Captain America by Steve Englehart, Vol. 1: Secret Empire,” although I suspect the Nomad stories are in Vol. 2. Vol. 1 has the X-Men in it, which is pretty cool as they were on the outs back in those days.

Unknown-3I’m going to fast-forward through the ’80s and ’90s as I don’t think those were quality times for Steve Rogers. I believe one of the stories from that age was the Cap-Wolf story where Cap turns into a werewolf. I haven’t read it but how good could it be?

 

In recent years I’ve bought Cap books when the artist appealed to me. John Cassaday did a short run following 9/11 so you can imagine what it was about. I don’t really remember the story too well. Steve McNiven also did a few issues that looked really nice. Again, I don’t remember the story.

91+zxkxM7dL._SL1500_Writer Ed Brubaker did a long, well-respected run on “Captain America” recently. the Winter Soldier story that the new movie is based on was based on one of Brubaker’s stories. Several volumes of his work are available, including “Winter Soldier.” It’s available in several different formats.

And that should get you started on the road to reading “Captain America.” I hope you enjoyed Cap Week and now I think I’ll take a week off.

 

Leave a Reply

