At The Movies: The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1 (Part 1)

OK, I know what you’re saying: “Where’s my ‘Hunger Games’ review? What’s this Stephen Hawking love story review doing here? Have you gone all art film reviewer on us?”

FIN09_Seashore_1Sht_Katniss_Payoff_900No, no. rest assured it’s nothing like that. You see, “The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1” screening was Tuesday night which conflicted with opening night for “Motown: The Musical” at the Fox and, well, I can get a nice date night with The Wife out of a show at the Fox. Taking her to a movie isn’t quite as impressive — unless it has Hobbits or Mr. Darcy.

So I haven’t had a chance to see the movie yet. I may see it Saturday morning if I can get out of bed in time for the first matinée. If I do, I’ll report back later that day. If I don’t, well, does it really matter?

If you’ve seen all the previous “Hunger Games” movies what are the chances you’re going to drop out now? And if you’ve never seen a “Hunger Games” movie, why would you start with the first half of the last chapter? This is pretty much the definition of “critic-proof.”

Leave a Reply

