I Ain’t Gonna Post On Maggie’s Blog No More

Blogging. I hate it. Oh, it was fun in the beginning. “Oh, you’re starting a blog! How exciting!” people would say. And maybe it was fun when it was all fresh and new, but soon it became a chore.

Granted, there are times when I enjoy it — when I have something to say about something or someone. But that’s once, maybe twice a year. The rest of the time the beast just sits there, waiting to be fed. And you have to feed it.

And those people who were all, “Oh, you’re starting a blog! How exciting!” well, they’re all busy reading Buzzfeed and posting not-so-clever articles from Buzzfeed onto your Facebook newsfeed and never post anything you wrote. The only thing I’ve had that’s gone viral is a head-cold.

(Oh, and never ask a movie reviewer if they’ve seen such-and-such movie. Chances are, Yes I did and I wrote about it. Remember? Awkward silence.. “I haven’t been online lately”…I see…)

So it’s been over a week since I last posted. I just didn’t feel like driving across town to watch the Jesse Owens movie or the resurrection movie. Sue me. Some weeks you just don’t feel like going out. Especially in February.

Sure, I could’ve written about something else. Adele…Late Night TV…That musical version of Quadrophenia that was on PBS (I even had a great headline for that one: Jean Valjean Joins The Who)… my son’s new thing where he takes my dirty socks and underwear out of the hamper and puts them back in my drawers … there are lots of things I think about writing about that I don’t get around to. Maybe if there was money involved I would feel differently about it.

Meanwhile the beast just sits there, waiting to be fed.

logo-footerAnd then I get a notice in my newsfeed that Maggie’s blog, The Tot Gourmand,  has gone live. Well, there’s something. After all, Rule No. 1 here at the RROY REPORT is that we always promote and support our friends in their entertainment-related endeavors.

Those of you with long memories will recall that Maggie was an FJE who left me for a better life involving marriage and moving from big city to big city. It’s been hard to keep track, but I believe she currently lives in Chicago with her husband Jim, her dog James and her son Deacon.

One of the many things I love about Maggie is how, when she had her first child, she didn’t flood the Internet with pictures of him. I know many people in recent years who have had children and let me tell you, the restraint that Maggie and Jim have shown in not posting photos of their child’s every move is nothing short of remarkable. And admirable.

654A1797-683x1024Anyway, at some point after leaving the Journal, Maggie became a chef and cooking instructor. She is now using her wisdom and skills to blog about healthy food choices for children (and I guess adults can eat it as well).

She talks about healthy eating and nutrition and offers recipes of things like Sweet Breakfast Parsnips, Tortilla de Patatas with Maple Bacon Crumbles and The Wonderful Creation of Kimchi.

It’s nothing I would eat, but it’s too late for me. Think of your children. No, no, I’m not asking you to post a photo of them. But think of how much better off they will be if you listen to Maggie and follow her advice. I’m sure her recipes are delicious. It’s just that I’ve got all these Little Debbie snack cakes in the pantry and I don’t want them to spoil.

So, Mags. Welcome to the wonderful world of blogging. I hope you enjoy it and find it as fulfilling as I do.

Hopefully more.

http://www.thetotgourmand.com/

 

 

 

 

 

 

One response to “I Ain’t Gonna Post On Maggie’s Blog No More

  1. It’s not too late for you, Ronnie! What about trying some kimchi on a hotdog or something? I’m sure we could work something out. Seriously, though, thanks for giving a shout out to the blog. I hope I can be half as good at this as you are!

Leave a Reply

