When Your Friends Say It Better

We have a rule here at the Report. It’s been the rule since Day 1.

“No political crap.”

We don’t debate the hot-button topic of the day here. We don’t jump on the bandwagon of whatever people are arguing about to get more hits. In large part this is because I sit on the other side of the fence from most of my friends and family on many of these issues and frankly, I don’t want to get into it with them. Life is too short. They’re not going to change me and God knows I’m not going to change them, so why bother?

The other reason goes back to one of my favorite scenes in one of my favorite movies, “Broadcast News,” in which the clueless TV anchorman wraps up a special report by telling the audience, “I think we’re going to be OK.”

At which point, crusty old newsguy looks up at the TV and says, “Who cares what you think?”

Now, “Who cares what you think?” is an admittedly strange motto for a guy who writes a blog full of movie and theater reviews, but I never said I wasn’t a hypocrite.

Anyway, it’s been a rough week all around and my Facebook feed has been full of commentary from my friends and family trying to sort it out.  A lot of it is the same old, same old, and most of it contains the thoughts of others with a handy link.

But sometimes someone says something meaningful, thoughtful, and maybe even profound. And that’s where I want to leave us this Sunday evening. Not with my pointless ramblings, but with the more measured thinking of some of my family and friends.

**********************************************************************

Our neighbors are those who need us. Who is your neighbor? Alton Sterling is your neighbor. Philando Castile is your neighbor. Brent Thompson, Michael Krol, Patrick Zamarripa, Lorne Ahrens, and Michael Smith are your neighbors. The victims of the Orlando nightclub shooting, and every other shooting in our country are your neighbors. All the families of these victims are you neighbor. Donald Trump is your neighbor. Hillary Clinton is your neighbor. The angry young woman in a ‪#‎blacklivesmatter‬ shirt is your neighbor. The officer & soldier putting their life on the line is your neighbor. The agnostic who’s angry at the church is your neighbor. The refugee fleeing Muslim extremists is your neighbor. That Muslim extremist is your neighbor.

If there’s anyone you think could never be your neighbor, because you ‘know what they’re like,’ Jesus says you are wrong. You don’t know that they’d never help you, so stop using that as justification not to help them.

— Chris Perrey

***********************************************************************

Just a half thought that’s running through my head right now. I understand when people ask “why can’t we all just get along?” or “where is the love” – and I understand that this is a very very huge ideal. I also think this is naive. I think the first step to answering these questions is asking instead “where is the source of the hurt?” We cannot ask an oppressor and an oppressed to sit in one room together and “figure it out”. People have been hurting for centuries and we can’t be shocked now that all of a sudden, the love is gone. The love has been gone, and in its place is years and years of struggle. The story began before we arrived and will continue on throughout. The hurt and disbelief people feel today is the same kind that many people in different parts of the country, and the world, feel every day. Don’t let the news cycle dictate what and when you decide to feel passionate about something, and let it fade into oblivion the moment that next week’s headlines start rolling.

The thing I value the most is awareness, understanding, and education, so I really do urge people to read as much as they can, about our past, present, and potential. And keep holding onto the ideal of a world where people get along and where love conquers, but understand that this won’t happen in our naivety and our shock of its absence. Context matters.

— Kiran Kaur

 

lemonade

Today, I am going to have a glass of lemonade

I’m feeling small in a world with such big problems

I’m feeling overwhelmed in the face of such anger and hatred

I’m feeling worried for my black friends because Shon’s life matters. Little Sadie’s life matters

I’m feeling powerless, helpless and hopeless

Perhaps most frightening of all, I’m starting to feel numb. Accepting that this is our new normal is the worst and most dangerous feeling of all

But I see that a group of neighborhood children is having a lemonade stand today, and in sharing a glass perhaps we can share a little hope, see a little promise and speak a little kindness

Small steps lead to big things. So today, in a world where we’ve been handed so many epic lemons, I’m having lemonade. And I’ll have a pitcher ready in my refrigerator and cold glass waiting for you.

— Ann Hein

One response to “When Your Friends Say It Better

  1. Nicely put.

Leave a Reply

